Buntstift auf Papier, Tinte auf Transparentpapier, A4 gedruckte Texte, Buntstift auf
Landkarten, Video: 40 mins, 2000

Installationsansichten, Galerie M+R Fricke, Düsseldorf.

Bewerbung für ein Aufenthaltsstipendium für Künstler in Schottland


Während meines Aufenthalts in Schottland werde ich an meinem Projekt Lebensführer weiterarbeiten.

Folgenden Teil des Lebensführers möchte ich realisieren:

Meine philosophischen Überzeugungen

(Lebensführer I.1: Philosophische Grundlagen)

Um dies zu tun, muß ich zunächst die folgende Arbeit realisieren:

Philosophie verstehen

(Lebensführer II.2: Notwendiges Wissen: Philosophie)

FoFür die Arbeit "Philosophie verstehen" werde ich mich damit befassen, alle Hauptwerke der Philosophie zu lesen. Beim Lesen werde ich mir Notizen machen. Der Abschluß der Arbeit wird ein Verweisregister sein, in dem das gesammelte Notizmaterial nach einem logischen Ordnungssystem sortiert wird. Für die Arbeit "Meine philosophischen Überzeugungen" werde ich meine Notizen aus der Arbeit "Philosophie verstehen" analysieren und bewerten. Absicht ist es, eine verbindliche philosophische Grundlage für den Lebensführer, wie auch für mein eigenes Leben zu schaffen.

"Meine philosophischen Überzeugungen" ist der wesentlichste Teil des Kapitels "Philosophische Grundlagen", das, als erstes Kapitel im Lebensführer zugleich das Fundament des ganzen Lebensführers darstellt.

Die Tatsache, daß "Meine philosophischen Überzeugungen" bislang noch nicht realisiert worden ist, läßt an der Gültigkeit der bereits im Lebensführer enthaltenen Arbeiten zweifeln. Ohne eine solide philosophische Grundlage sind fundierte Entscheidungen, die die Eckpfeiler jeder künstlerischen Arbeit darstellen, nicht möglich.

In diesem Bewußtsein versuche ich nun wiederholt die Arbeit "Meine philosophischen Überzeugungen" umzusetzen, was aber durch meine philosophische Unkenntnis verhindert wird. Ich bin gezwungen, den Abschluß der Arbeit aufzuschieben, bis ich die Gelegenheit habe, die notwendige gründliche Forschungsarbeit zu leisten.

Jetzt weiß ich, daß die Arbeit nicht weiter aufgeschoben werden kann. Es ist zwingend für meine Zukunft als Künstlerin, daß ich eine Gelegenheit finde, mich der Umsetzung dieser Arbeit widmen zu können.

Ein Aufenthalt in Schottland, bei dem ich drei Jahre lang ohne Ablenkung und mit einer gesicherten finanziellen Unterstützung arbeiten könnte, wäre eine solche Gelegenheit.

Während meines Aufenthalts in Schottland würde ich gerne auf den Äußeren Hebriden leben, da ich glaube, daß ich dort den notwendigen Frieden und die Abgeschiedenheit vorfinden werde, um die oben beschriebene Arbeit zu realisieren.

(Übersetzung aus dem Englischen)

harvey@uni-duesseldorf.de, 28.09.2000 22:07:45 - message from Lucy Harvey

X-POP3: Lucy.Harvey@sirene.rz.uni-duesseldorf.de

Date: Thu, 28 Sept 2000 22:07:45

From: "Lucy Harvey" < harvey@uni-duesseldorf.de>

To: < alice.thomson@yahoo.com>

Subject: message from Lucy Harvey

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/alternative;


X-Priority: 3

X-MSMail-Priority: Normal


X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V4.72.3110.3

This is a multi-part message in MIME format.

Dear Alice,

How are you? I hope you remember me - we met at the Glasgow Art Fair in February. Sorry I haven't written before now.

I'm actually writing to you to ask you if you could possibly do a favour for me. You probably remember me talking to you about wanting to live in the Outer Hebrides and now I'm finally moving there. I applied for a residency from the Scottish Arts Council and I just heard today that I got it so I've got money for three years which is great.

My only problem now is that I need to find somewhere to live and what I was wondering was if you could buy me an Outer Hebrides newspaper (hopefully there is one) that has ads for places to rent in it and send it to me here in Germany. We can only get the London papers here and I looked on the internet but I could only find information about hotels and package holidays and places to buy which doesn't help much.

In case you haven't got it my address is: Merkurstrasse 36A, 40223, Duesseldorf.

Thanks a lot for doing this. I'll be travelling through Glasgow again very soon on my way to the islands so I'll get in touch and we can meet for a drink.

take care and see you very soon,


Printed for lucy harvey

Lucy Harvey

Merkurstrasse 36A

40223 Düsseldorf


Duncan McLeod

Buaile nam Bodach Farm

Barra HS9 5TQ

Outer Hebrides



Dear Mr. McLeod,

I am writing in reply to your advertisement in the Western Isles Gazette about a croft for rent and would very much appreciate some more information about it.

I am intending to live in the Outer Hebrides for a period of at least three years and would firstly need to know if your croft would be available to rent on a semi-permanent basis and if it would be suitable for living in all-year-round. Specifically, given that there is no electricity or running water, could you tell me what the arrangements are for lighting, cooking, heating, water, toilet facilities etc?

Would you be able to describe the croft for me – how large it is and maybe a bit about what it looks like? Also could you tell me exactly where on Vatersay it is located? I am definitely looking for somewhere in a "very peaceful situation", ideally not too close to other houses. Given that there is no road access I would also need to know how generally accessible the location is especially in terms of getting food and other supplies. I have a map of the island and there seems to be a post office in the village of Bhatarsaigh but could you tell me if there is also a shop there?

Lastly, as I am travelling from Germany I won't be bringing any furniture with me and I was wondering if the croft was either already furnished or if it would be possible for you to provide me with any furniture.

I would be very grateful if you could write back to me as soon as possible. I am moving to the Outer Hebrides in early to mid October and need to have found somewhere to live before this time.

Yours sincerely,

Lucy Harvey

Merkurstrasse 36A

40223 Düsseldorf


Duncan McLeod

Buaile nam Bodach Farm

Barra HS9 5TQ

Outer Hebrides



Dear Mr. McLeod,

Thank you very much for your letter. I would very much like to rent your croft. I will be arriving in Castlebay on the 13th October at 2:30 and I would be very pleased if you were able to meet me from the ferry. If I don't hear anything further from you then I will assume that this suits you and I'll look forward to meeting you then.